Chasing Sam Maguire

Chasing Sam Maguire

Regular price €35.00 €0.00 Unit price per
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

GAA Museum Book Club Book of the Month for February/March

Chasing Sam Maguire: The All Ireland Football Championships 1928 – 1977

By Dermot Reilly & Colm Keys

Published by O'Brien Press

Hardback Edition 

In Chasing Sam Maguire, authors Dermot Reilly and Colm Keys have created an absorbing record of the first fifty years of the Sam Maguire cup.

Since the trophy was first presented in 1928, to Kildare, who beat Cavan by a single point, the Sam Maguire has become one of the most treasured pieces of silverware in Irish sport. This book celebrates all the heartbreak and glory of those teams bidding to win it over the first 50 years.

Backed up by truckloads of research, Chasing Sam Maguire contains thrilling accounts of the run-up to each final alongside the finals themselves. It also contains the names and home clubs of every player to have played in those finals from 1928 to 1977. In short, it’s an enthralling account of the agony and ecstasy of the pursuit of All-Ireland footballing glory.

GAA Museum Book Club

Chasing Sam is the choice of the GAA Museum Book Club for February/March.

Each month the GAA Museum team choose a well-known GAA book to read and review.  An interview with the author is released at the end of the month.  To find out more about the GAA Museum Book Club and how you can become a member, click here.